Keith Area School is a







The South Australian Certificate of Education has a number of subject requirements which must be successfully completed to successfully attain a SACE Certificate.

There are two stages of the SACE:‎

  • Stage 1, which usually begins in Year 10, with students studying the Personal Learning ‎Plan, and continues through Year 11. ‎
  • Stage 2, which is usually undertaken in Year 12.‎

Each subject or course that is successfully completed earns ‘credits' towards the SACE. ‎Students receive a final grade from A to E for each Stage 1 subject and A+ to E– for ‎Stage 2 subjects.‎

To qualify for the SACE students must:‎

  • Complete a minimum of 200 credits
  • Achieve a C grade or higher in the Stage 1 compulsory subjects

Achieve a C– or higher in the Stage 2 compulsory subjects.‎

The compulsory requirements are:‎

  • Personal Learning Plan – 10 credits at Stage 1‎
  • Literacy – at least 20 credits from a range of English subjects (Stage 1 or Stage 2)‎
  • Numeracy – at least 10 credits from a range of mathematics subjects (Stage 1 or Stage ‎‎2)‎
  • Research Project – 10 credits at Stage 2‎
  • Other Stage 2 subjects – that total at least 60 credits

The remaining 90 credits can be gained through additional Stage 1 or Stage 2 subjects or ‎Board-recognised courses (such as VET or community learning) of a student's choice.‎

Contact the Senior School Coordinator for more information, or click on the links below to look further at the SACE website.

Keith Area School Senior Secondary Handbook
View 2019 Handbook

SACE Planner
View SACE Course Planner

SACE Website

Entry to TAFE and Uni

>> Back to 'Senior School'